THE CROSS, THE CHRIST, AND HIS CRUCIFIXION.

26 3 2017

THE GREAT FALLACIOUS TRIAL [THE SHAM]

Image result for Isaiah 52:14 pics

THE BLOOD WALK  #2

Then they began to spit in Jesus’ face and beat him with their fists. And some slapped him Matthew 26:67

They shall see my Servant beaten and bloodied, so disfigured one would scarcely know it was a person standing there. So shall he cleanse many nations. Isaiah 52:14

I gave my back to those who strike, and my cheeks to those who pull out the beard; I hid not my face from disgrace and spitting. Isaiah 50:6

Context: The next time we see blood drawn is at the false trial where Jesus was punched and slapped around the face. An old Testament prophesy say’s ‘I gave my back to those who strike, and my cheeks to those who pull out the beard’. Though the New Testament gospels don’t mention this some therefore refute the beard theory! Nevertheless many scholars believe the old Testament prophesy stands. Whichever; the fact is Jesus was beaten hard about the face to the point of disfigurement beyond recognition. Before I got saved I was a vicious thug. Many times I had beaten someone up real bad and visa versa, and not once was there no blood shed. And so here we see Jesus’s face being bloodied. But what is the significance of the face?

Faces are essential to expressing emotion, consciously or unconsciously. A frown denotes disapproval; a smile usually means someone is pleased. Being able to read emotion in another’s face is “the fundamental basis for empathy and the ability to interpret a person’s reactions and predict the probability of ensuing behaviors”. They are also representative of parents and family. Mankind originally was made in the image of God, Jesus is the express image of God. and though we have to be careful here because God is Spirit, nevertheless, to look upon Jesus was to see the Father. My own thoughts and meditations on this is that satan through these evil men was beating up the face of God! The devil hates God and for millennia Lucifer looked upon the face of God the Almighty and when he rebelled would long to punch God’s face! Well now he gets his moment! The face then [I believe] represents who we are, our personality, character, dignity, humanity and I am sure we could add many more.

Application: I believe this teaches us that Jesus shed His blood to redeem our dignity, our humanity our distinctiveness and parenthood from Adam to now and our original parenthood of God as well as many other areas of our humanity. His face was disfigured and bloodied so that our faces [the redeemed] may reflect God’s light from one degree of glory to another.

Prayer: Great and Mighty Creator God. I thank you for all that you did for me through Jesus Christ my Lord and Saviour. I thank you that you redeemed my humanity and restored my dignity. Thank you that your face was beaten and bruised so that mine would one day fully reflect the image and glory of God just as the moon reflects the glory of the sun, so help me to reflect the glory of your Son. Amen.

 

 

About wonderboy57

Let's make a start. I am a Christian but I guess that's pretty obvious. I am a gardener, builder by trade. I live in the Black country. I love 50s 60s 70s and 80s music. I play guitar and sing. I do open mic nights, I love growing veg and flowers, but I don't eat the flowers. Well I eat cauliflowers but that's not the same. If you need a good Gardener/bricklayer/landscaper and plasterer, not all in one go of course then contact me. My business is Dedicated In Gardens or D.I.G. Do you get it! Or do you dig it? johnkarlw@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Jabez's Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

